In this article, you'll learn how to manage learning paths, specifically on editing/deleting learning paths and managing learner access to learning paths.
For our guide on how to Create Learning Paths, click here.
Add/Remove Learners to Learning Path
When a Learning Path is first saved, there are no users with access to it i.e. not visible in their Learning Path section except community admins. To provide learners access to the learning path, community administrators have to add learners to a learning path. You can do so by clicking on the learning path on the menu sidebar. Click on Manage > Manage Members.
Users can be added to learning paths individually or in bulk via groups via the Add members button.
You can either add learners individually or in bulk. To add individual users to learning paths, click on Add members, then on Individuals.
You can then choose to add individual users by searching for their names.
Alternatively, you can add multiple individual users to the learning path by clicking on Add multiple members and pasting the selected usernames into the resulting area.
Once you have pasted the list of usernames, click on next to view the full list of added members and to confirm.
An alternative to adding individuals to learning paths is to add Groups. Adding a group to a learning path will add all members of the group to the learning path. To add groups, go back to the Manage Members page and click on Add members, then select Groups.
You will then see the list of groups in your community. After selecting the groups you want to add, click on Next to add the users to the learning path
Once you have added users to a learning path, it will be accessible from the Learning Paths sidebar once they log in.
If you want to remove learning path access from a learner, you can do so by clicking on Manage on the left and clicking on Remove Members.
Similar to adding, members can be removed either individually or as part of a group.
Once you have removed the learner's learning path access, they will no longer be able to view the learning path on the menu sidebar.
Please note that removing learners from a previously completed learning path will not affect the completion status of that learning path for those learners. If the learners are added back into the same learning path, their previous completion status is maintained.
Additionally, removing learners from a previously completed learning path does not remove their access to the completion certificate. They will still be able to download the certificate from their user profile.
Editing a Learning Path
To edit a Learning Path, navigate to the Manage button on the left and click on Edit Learning Path
A page similar to the learning path creation should show, with the previous learning path content available for editing The following details in the learning path are editable:
- Restrict learning path consumption order for learners
- Enable User Verification
- Name of Learning Path
- The order of courses and assessments in the learning path.
- Courses/Assessments in Learning Path
- From the Learning Path page, community administrators can edit directly by clicking on each course or assessment.
You will then be brought to the course/assessment editing page where you can delete/edit the courses.
- If any changes are made to individual courses or assessments in a Learning Path, the changes will only be reflected once the Learning Path is Saved.
The same criteria should be met before the edited learning path can be saved
- The learning path is named
- Contains at least two courses and/or assessments
Taking a Learning Path Offline
Learning paths can be taken offline by clicking on Manage > Take Offline. This allows community admins to temporarily remove user access to learning paths so that edits can be made. Once all changes have been made and saved, the same button can be used to take the learning path online.
Deleting A Learning Path
Community administrators can choose to delete the learning path by clicking on Manage > Delete.
The system will prompt the admin to confirm the deletion. If the admin clicks on Yes, the learning path will be removed from the menu sidebar. Note that deletion is permanent and that the action cannot be undone.
Removing the learning path does not remove their access to the completion certificate. Learners will still be able to download the certificate from their profiles.
You can also manage your learning paths by clicking on the top right-hand icon and selecting Manage Community, followed by Manage Learning Paths
You can choose to either (1) Go directly to the Learning Path, (2) Delete the Learning Path or take the (3) Learning Path offline.
You can choose to take the Learning Path offline if you wish to edit the Learning Path and republish it again or if you wish to remove user access temporarily.
If you have any further questions on learning oath creation, please reach out to your account manager for more information.
For information on how to create learning paths within a channel, click here.